Deleting Emails In Outlook

There are two ways to delete emails in Outlook. One method permanently deletes the email from your mailbox, and the other method moves the email to your Deleted Items folder in Outlook where you can still access it if needed. When an email is permanently deleted, it goes to the Recover Deleted Items folder in Outlook for 14 days where it can be recovered.

To permanently delete emails:

Method 1:

  • From your computer, hold down the Shift key and right-click on the email(s) that you would like to permanently delete, then click on Delete.

Select Delete

  • When prompted, select Yes to confirm that you would like to permanently delete the email.

Click Yes to confirm deleting the email

 

Method 2:

  • Right-click on the email(s) and click delete. This will send the email to your deleted items folder.

Right click and select Delete

  • Navigate to your Deleted Items folder.

Go to your deleted items folder

  • Right-click the email(s) you would like to delete, then select Delete.

Right click and select delete

 

  • Select Yes to permanently delete the email.

Select Yes to permanently delete the email.

 

When an email is permanently deleted, it goes to the Recover Deleted Items folder in Outlook for 14 days where it can be recovered. Use the article Recovering Deleted Items In Outlook for how to recover emails.

Details

Article ID: 56540
Created
Tue 6/26/18 10:08 AM
Modified
Thu 8/16/18 3:25 PM